Purple Line FTA MTA TOD Planning Grant



In December 2018 the Maryland Transit Administration was awarded a $2 million dollar grant from the Federal Transit Administration. The grant is a “TOD Planning Grant,” which funds collaborative planning work between local government agencies to plan for transit-oriented-development in the Purple Line Corridor.

The National Center for Smart Growth was a key partner in applying for the grant. On behalf of MTA, the NCSG will complete much of the grant work. NCSG is already heavily engaged in the Purple Line Corridor through the activities of the Purple Line Corridor Coalition.

FTA Grant Project Elements

PLCC Organization and Development

  • Expand and formalize PLCC coalition structure to support stronger and more coordinated efforts across the corridor
  • Develop and implement a communications strategy, engagement plan
  • Establish bi-county policy coordination
Technical Analysis and Strategies

Small Business Preservation

  • Prepare business preservation assessment and strategy
  • Advance strategic business support




Project Leaders
Project Team Members
  • Lily Murnen, MCP Student, NCSG
  • Hyunjoo Eom, PhD Candidate, NCSG
  • Zhenpeng Zou, PhD Candidate, NCSG
  • Kim Ross, Consultant, NCSG/PLCC
  • Steve Brigham, Public Engagement Associates, Consultant, PLCC
  • Rich Kuzmyak, Transportation Planning Consultant
  • ECONorthwest: Ian Carlton, PhD; Becky Hewitt; Michelle Anderson
  • Terry Moore, Good Next Steps, Management Consultant
  • Lew Hopkins, Prof. University of Illinois, ret.
  • Enrique Silva, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
  • Manuel Ochoa, Ochoa Urban Collaborative, small business consultant
  • Melissa Bondi, Enterprise Community Partners
Government Partners
  • The Maryland Transit Administration, Maryland Department of Transportation
  • Montgomery County agencies in charge of Planning, Transportation, Housing, and Economic Development
  • Prince Georges County agencies in charge of Planning, Transportation, Housing and Economic Development
  • The Prince George’s and Montgomery County executive offices